Doula Network Australia Incorporated  

Peer support ~ Professional development ~ Advocacy   

Our Committee

Members Area

Upcoming Events

Like us on Facebook!

Committee members generously donate their time and talents to serve the association.  They are elected at our Annual General Meeting each year.  Below are our current Committee members. 

Christa Buckland - President & Co-Founder

Christa has been a doula and childbirth educator since 2010.  She has also completed studies in hypnobirthing, postnatal support and placenta encapsulation.  She has a Bachelor of Health Science (Health Promotion) from Western Sydney University and is now embarking upon postgraduate research studies.  She co-founded the group in 2011 and is passionate about networking and mentoring. 

0422 229 312 

Julia MacLeod - Vice President

Julia has been a birth and postnatal doula since 2013 after she became a mother and left her international corporate career. She has a Bachelor of Arts (Sociology, Political and Media Sciences) and loves the never ending learning opportunities that come with her role as a doula. Since starting she has developed a particular passion for supporting VBAC journeys and families with a history of a traumatic birth experience. Julia lives and works on the NSW Central Coast with her husband and two young boys.

0457 100 752

Ellen Croucher - Secretary

Ellen became a doula in 2012. She attended the Australian Doula College and attained a Certificate IV in Doula Services. She has also attended the International Normal Labour and Birth Conference in 2016 and the Spinning Babies Workshop in 2017. Ellen is currently undertaking a Bachelor of Nursing with Avondale College. She has a passion for learning and supporting women.

0449 804 747

Claire Wyborn - Treasurer

Claire began her doula journey in 2008. She has completed courses with Optimum Birth (2008), Dial-a-Doula (2012, 2014), Fiona Hallinan (2016) and DONA International (2016, 2017). Claire also has a Certificate IV in Business and Customer Contact and training in MYOB. Claire offers birth and postnatal doula services, pregnancy massage, birth hypnosis and is a Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator. She proudly volunteers for the registered charity Birth for Human Kind.

0417 195634

Jennifer McCartin - Committee Member

After supporting births in the late ‘90’s in the U.S.A Jennifer became certified in 2012 with Optimum Birth in Australia. She is both a birth and postnatal Doula along with Placenta Encapsulation professional. Jennifer also holds a Certificate III in Dispensary Community Pharmacy, and is hoping to undertake either a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment or Pathology in 2018. But her true passion lies in supporting families at births. 

0403 916 000

Danera Wilkinson - Committee Member

Danera is an experienced prenatal, postnatal and kids yoga teacher. She has been a Birthing From Within® Mentor and doula since 2012. Danera has attended workshops with Maha Al Musa (Belly Dance for Birth) and Threedom Wellness Academy and has over 20 years experience as a Holistic Beauty Therapist. In 2017, Danera co-founded Deva Co. Lifestyle Centre - a unique holistic chemical free centre incorporating yoga, pilates, massage, spa/beauty treatments, birth support, womens/kids ceremony circles and workshops, with a fully staffed creche. Holding the space of support and connection is where Danera truly feels at home.

0404 668 109

Vicki Hobbs - Committee Member

Vicki has been working with pregnant women since 2006. She is a highly qualified remedial massage therapist specialising in pregnancy and postpartum massage. She became a birth doula in 2010, a postpartum doula in 2015 and has completed numerous workshops including Spinning Babies, VBAC Educator Training, Soundbirth, Acupressure and Sara Wickham's face-to-face and online courses. Vicki is also a certified hypnotherapist, Hypnobirthing Australia™ practitioner and has a diploma in Aromatherapy.  She also has a Certificate IV in Business. Vicki has attended close to 100 births and is dedicated to providing non-judgemental support to all women and their birth partners.

08 9303 9111


We would like to recognise and thank the following people for their service on the Committee in the past:

Nimity Keon, Co-Founder & Vice-President, 2014-17

Erika Elliott, 2014-17

Jerusha Sutton, 2014-17

Lucretia McCarthy, Secretary, 2015-17

Narelle Horwitz, 2014-17

Lynda Taylor, Treasurer, 2014-17

Briony Goodsell, Secretary, 2014-15